3 Gunas or Qualities of Nature

Once a disciple asked his guru if God is there then why bad happening in the world, why the Pandemic happens, why the tsunami comes, and why all destruction happens?. If Satan does all this then is Satan even stronger than God? If Satan is more powerful than God, then we should worship him only. Why do we worship God?

There are more than 300 religions on this earth and all worship their god in which they believe. All of them also believe that without the will of God, even a single blade of grass does not move. So why would God do anything bad? Then what is the reason for this?

So the Guru said that the answer to this matter is found in the Bhagavad Gita, in which Shri Krishna has told 3 qualities of nature. Which applies to every part of life. This knowledge is the best of all knowledge. After knowing that, all sages have attained accomplishment.

3 Gunas or Qualities of Nature – Sattva, Rajas & Tamas 

The three Gunas are Sattva (purity), Rajas (activity), and Tamas (darkness, destruction). Gunas are present in everything; humans, food, animate and innate objects.

Quantum Physics also proved that everything that we see is made of atoms and atoms can be broken down into three constituents parts – protons, neutron, and electrons. This is a scientific description of nature.

Rajas – The Guna of Passion and Manipulation

Rajas Guna of nature represents the proton part of the atom. This is the positive side of nature. A person with this guna thinks about himself, about his desire and satisfaction. He lives to satisfy his 5 senses and thinks his body is only the truth. If it is in access it makes a person selfish and greedy.

Rajas - The Guna of Passion and Manipulation

Understand it by example; suppose you are driving a car and its race is rajas guna. It helps in moving you forward. Due to race only, a car will keep moving and can be an accident even while running continuously. So, it needs a break to stop.

Tamas – The Guna of Darkness and Destruction

Tamas Guna of nature represents the neutron part of the atom. This is the negative side of nature. Tamas manifests itself as impurity, laziness, and darkness. A person with that guna does not think about anything. It gives birth to anger and in his anger a person destroys everything. If it’s over in any person it destroys everything. This guna of nature is the reason behind pandemics, all disasters or anything bad happen in any life. If anything bad happening in your life just thinks and identify this quality of nature. Maybe you have any bad habits, negative thinking, or anything wrong happening around you, or you are doing anything wrong. Just identify and correct it.

Tamas - The Guna of Darkness and Destruction

This guna is like a break in your car. Its also need to stop your car. But there is only break your car will not move. Just think about its positive apsect, this guna is also important.

Sattva – The Guna of Purity and Harmony

Sattva Guna of nature represents the electron part of the atom. This is the balance of both sides of nature. As electron flows between proton and neutron same sattva is a balance between rajas and tamas. Life is all about balance and for those who know this quality of nature he is the Perfect Man. It is the quality of goodness, joy, satisfaction, nobility, and contentment. It is free of fear, violence, wrath, and malice. Sattvic quality is pure and forgiving. It is the guna that people want to increase in order to reach the state of Samadhi or Liberation. Increasing sattva is possible by reducing rajas and tamas, both in your mind and in your body.

Sattva - The Guna of Purity and Harmony

This quality of nature is like stering wheel in car. If you have a break and race but not have streing wheel you will not able to control the car. So, balancing is much important part in your life.

A Story of Three Boys

A story of three boys

Once three boys left their village for the city in search of work. When they were going through a forest, they felt hungry on the way. All three went in search of food in different directions. All three got a mango tree.

The first boy saw some ripe mangoes lying at the bottom, so why pluck new mangoes. He got up and ate the mangoes lying below. After filling his stomach, he felt that something should be given in return for the mangoes he had eaten. But there was no one to whom he could pay. So he thought why not mango seeds should be grown in the ground. He planted the mango seeds around him. This was the Sattva Guna of his nature.

When the second boy arrived, he thought why not I should pluck all the mangoes so that I would earn money by selling them in the city. He plucked all the mangoes and cut some wood along with it. This was the Rajas Guna of his nature.

The third boy did not understand that which are ripe mangoes and which are raw mangoes. Whatever mangoes he picked up, those were sour. He got angry and set that tree on fire. This was the Tamas Guna of his nature.

There are three Gunas inside every human being. But one guna dominates more. If the tamas guna dominates someone, then it becomes the reason for his destruction. This Tamas guna is the cause of all the evils and pandemics around. A person with Tamas guna thinks only about himself and his family. And the best guna among all these is sattva. A person with sattva guna thinks about public welfare.

How These 3 Gunas or Qualities of Nature apply in Every Part of Life?

As I told these 3 Gunas or Qualities of Nature are present in everything; humans, food, animals, and innate objects. Now see the examples:


Anything that we eat is divided into three parts after going inside in Stomach. One part becomes the muscles of the body(Rajas), and the other part wastes (Tamas). Its micro part becomes the part of the mind. That is the sattva part of nature. There is a wonderful saying in Hindi “जैसा खाए अन्न, वैसा होय मन” means your mind become as you eat. This is the reason in Hinduism sattvic food given so much importance. sattvic food such as fresh fruits and vegetables, whole grains, and legumes. sattvic foods are fresh and pure and grow above the ground, receiving their positive energy from the sunlight.


Water also divided into 3, first urine(tamas), second into blood(rajas), and its micro component in life(soul) that is sattva.


Early morning, afternoon, and night. For example, early morning has sattva, afternoons become rajasic and night brings tamas.

Hinduism God

Brahma, Vishnu, and Mahesh(shiv), these Hindu Gods are the biggest examples of 3 Gunas or Qualities of Nature. Brahma is rajas, Mahesh(shiv) is tamas and Vishnu is sattva. That’s the Vishnu Ji is the most Venerable God in Hinduism. Shiv’s Trishul is a symbol of these 3 Gunas and these three God.

Hinduism God


Electron flows between positive and negative. That produces electricity. The positive side is rajas, the negative side is tamas, and the electron that flows between these is sattva.

Things that are Beyond these 3 Gunas

Things that remain the same everywhere and everytime is extreme truth. That is we call the reality. Only maya(illusion) has these gunas but truth has no guna. Thats why we called it Nirguna.

Paraatma(Extreme Soul)

Extreme soul that is the reason behind everything on this earth is beyond all these 3 gunas.


Consciousness is something that enables us to see that a world full of illusion is also beyond these 3 Gunas because after knowing consciousness a person gets free from these illusionary worlds. He starts seeing the extreme truth. So, consciousness itself is a small part of the extreme soul.


Saurabh Goel

Read more on Kundalini Awakening, The Creation

Leave a Comment