What is Consciousness? Exploring the Depths of Consciousness


Our daily experiences, perceptions, and interactions with the world are shaped by an extraordinary phenomenon known as consciousness. This intangible force allows us to see, hear, feel, smell, and taste the intricacies of life. Delving into the layers of consciousness unravels a profound understanding of our existence and how we perceive the world around us.

Understanding Consciousness

At its core, consciousness is the essence by which we experience life. It is the silent observer behind our senses, orchestrating the symphony of our perceptions. Without consciousness, our senses would be mere conduits, devoid of the richness and depth that colors our human experience.

The Mystery of Dreams

Consider the enigma of dreams—a realm where our senses seem to transcend the limitations of wakefulness. In dreams, our consciousness takes center stage, creating entire worlds that feel as real as our waking moments. The question arises: if our senses are dormant during sleep, how do we perceive these vivid dreamscapes? The answer lies in the ceaseless presence of consciousness.

What is Consciousness?

Levels of Consciousness (Chetana)

To comprehend the intricacies of consciousness, ancient Vedic wisdom introduces us to five levels of awareness: Avritta Chetana, Sankuchita Chetana, Mukullita Chetana, Vikasit Chetana, and Purna Vikasita Chetana. Each level unveils a different facet of our conscious existence, offering a profound insight into the evolution of awareness.

  1. Avritta Chetana: At this level, consciousness is veiled, akin to a dormant state where awareness is limited. It represents a state of minimal sensory engagement as if the mind is shielded from the external world.
  2. Sankuchita Chetana: Sankuchita Chetana signifies a contracted consciousness, where awareness is present but in a restricted form. This level reflects a partial awakening as if the mind is cautiously peeking into the realm of perception.
  3. Mukullita Chetana: As consciousness expands, Mukullita Chetana represents a heightened awareness. It’s like the first rays of dawn, gradually illuminating the mind and allowing for a more comprehensive engagement with the senses.
  4. Vikasit Chetana: Vikasit Chetana marks a further expansion of consciousness, akin to the sun ascending to its zenith. Awareness at this level is extensive, embracing a fuller spectrum of sensory experiences.
  5. Purna Vikasita Chetana: The pinnacle of consciousness, Purna Vikasita Chetana, embodies complete and expansive awareness. It’s the state where the mind is fully awake, akin to the midday sun casting its brilliance on the landscape of perception.

Real-Life Examples

To grasp the significance of these levels, let’s draw parallels with real-life scenarios. Consider the state of Avritta Chetana during deep sleep, where consciousness is veiled, and the mind is temporarily withdrawn from the external world. Contrast this with the heightened awareness of Vikasit Chetana during moments of deep focus or meditation, where the mind becomes attuned to a specific experience.

The Impact of Consciousness on Perspective

Our individual perspectives, shaped by the level of consciousness we operate in, influence how we perceive the world. Two people may witness the same event, yet their interpretations can vary based on their unique states of awareness. This dynamic interplay between consciousness and perspective adds a layer of subjectivity to our understanding of reality.


In unraveling the layers of consciousness, we embark on a transformative journey into the very fabric of our existence. This exploration challenges us to question the nature of reality, the boundaries of perception, and the profound role consciousness plays in shaping our human experience.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

1. What is the fundamental role of consciousness in our daily experiences and perceptions?

Answer: Consciousness serves as the essence through which we perceive and experience life. It orchestrates the symphony of our senses, adding depth and richness to our human experience.

2. How does consciousness operate in dreams, and why do dreamscapes feel as real as waking moments?

Answer: During dreams, consciousness takes center stage, creating vivid worlds that feel real. Even though our senses are dormant, the ceaseless presence of consciousness allows us to perceive dreamscapes with authenticity.

3. Can you explain the five levels of consciousness mentioned in Vedic wisdom and their impact on awareness?

Answer: Vedic wisdom outlines five levels of consciousness—Avritta, Sankuchita, Mukullita, Vikasit, and Purna Vikasita. Each level offers insights into the evolution of awareness, ranging from veiled states to complete and expansive awareness.

4. How do real-life examples illustrate the various levels of consciousness discussed in the blog?

Answer: Real-life scenarios, such as deep sleep reflecting Avritta Chetana and focused meditation embodying Vikasit Chetana, provide practical insights into the different levels of consciousness.

5. What is the connection between individual consciousness and the subjective interpretation of reality?

Answer: Individual consciousness significantly influences how we interpret and perceive reality. People witnessing the same event may have varied interpretations based on their unique states of awareness, adding a layer of subjectivity to our understanding of the world.


Saurabh Goel

Saurabh Goel

Saurabh Goel

He is the Founder and CEO of the Training and Counselling Company ‘Brain Soul & You’. He is an NLP Wellness Coach, Life Coach, Brain analyst, and Trainer for Education, Corporate, and Entrepreneurship. For more than 7 years, he delivered presentations on entrepreneurship, mind programming, and motivation. He did his B.tech in IT and later chose to be a successful psychologist. He is helping people in various ways through his counseling and training sessions.

Leave a Comment